My first six months in the blogosphere!

So, it has been nearly six months since I started this blog, and as I look back, I realize just how much more aware I am about the book blogging world now. Book tours, ARCs, review requests, the whole social media promoting, giveaways … whew!

2015 has been an amazing year for me … a life-changing one. I got married and moved to another country nine months ago. A new life, new environment, and well.. quite a lot of free time. Then my husband introduced me to the awesome library services here. And that is what prompted me to get back to reading which I had sort of neglected in the past few years. And blogging is an extension of just expressing something I love doing.

During my initial days, I didn’t even think much about having my blog seen or liked by other bloggers. Then Bookidote liked and commented on my post, and it was then that I started checking out other blogs more carefully. However, it was weeks before I seriously started revamping my blog, adding a Review Policy page, indexing my posts and setting up an email account for contact. Because I thought it was such a great way to discover and read different books.

I wish I had discovered the awesomeness of twitter earlier in the year … I went a bit nutty trying to enter every giveaway that was being promoted for Christmas and New Year :p .. No, but seriously, I didn’t know there were so many bloggers, publishers, editors and new, aspiring authors who are so active in encouraging each other’s work and checking out different blogs. I had heard terms like virtual tours, book tours, tour hosts but never dug into it to fully understand how it works.

So when I finally did, I did feel like I missed out on some opportunity.. but oh well, I probably wouldn’t have gotten picked that early anyways..

So signing up for blog tours is definitely something that I would try in 2016. But more than anything else, more than review requests or giveaways or tours, or even stressing over page count or frequency of blog posts, I think my main blogging and reading resolution for this year is to just enjoy the whole process of reading, blogging and discovering new books, trying different authors and genres.

5 thoughts on “My first six months in the blogosphere!

  1. Jessalyn Cockrell January 4, 2016 / 6:43 pm

    It’s crazy how much stuff you can learn in a year, isn’t it? I feel like I’ve kind of fallen into the deep end when it comes to self-publishing, but it has been an absolute blast! I’m still not sure I understand blog tours at all though. How do you sign up for them?
    It’s great seeing what kind of community is out there for readers and writers. It’s very inspiring. Thank you for writing this!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ishita January 5, 2016 / 6:30 pm

      Oh yes!! And it is amazing how you discover so many new and different books and authors that you normally might not stumble upon.. Quite humbling actually…

      Blog tours help authors promote their books through various blogs, and that is in turn shared on other social media… So it kinda snowballs into tweets, goodreads, amazon reviews, and so on. It is a combination of review posts, author interviews, and other guest posts ..
      Do check out xpressobooktours.com . It has hosted numerous successful tours and has a pretty good reach…

      All the best for your novel!
      Thank you so much for stopping by my blog!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jessalyn Cockrell January 5, 2016 / 6:53 pm

        Thank you so much for taking the time to reply to my comment and giving me that information! It’s really helpful.
        I know, now that I’ve entered the world of indie authors it feels like there are so many more books to read. I can’t thank you enough for your help!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. roberteggleton July 16, 2016 / 4:14 pm

    Thanks for creating your blog — a wonder service in the advancement of literature. However, I couldn’t find your email address. Thanks again.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

